Lost


I am posting the work of a friend of mine today, she is an upcoming and talented writer with stories that must come out 🙂 Hopefully we will see her own writing out there in the  blogosphere before too long!

Most popular tags for this image include: galaxy and girl

 

“I thought you loved me,” he said.

I loved him too, I did, but enough was enough.

He walked over to me and I tried not to melt as the heat from his fingertips sent chills that radiated through every inch of my body—if I did, we’d be right back to the drawing board.

Love. Never have I known a word that could invoke so many different emotions.

It’s not that he treated me badly, he was perfect.

His gentleness could calm the harshest of storms.  He stimulated my brain and overwhelmed my senses with pleasure, knowing exactly what chords to pluck and the melody that would make my body hum.

It wasn’t him, it was me.

I was tired.

Tired of the person that I was whenever I was with him. Desperate to no longer be nothing but a ghost of whom I use to be.

Strong. Independent. Adventurous. The fire that burned fervently within was now reduced to a mere flicker, desperately trying to stay lit.

Whenever I was with him, I wasn’t my own person, I was his.

My soul yearned to be known and yet I sat there, lonely from my own presence whenever he was near.

I was lost. I needed to find myself.

I loved him, I did. But I needed to love myself first.

-UnSpokenSpeaker

Update: She is now online at http://www.realunspokenspeaker.wordpress.com

 

Image Credit

One thought on “Lost

Leave a Comment

