in its wake


cheshire-cat-the-cheshire-cat-15215972-860-646

Where my heart should be there’s a gust of wind. It’s liable to twist into a tornado or die down into a breeze at any second. There’s nothing in-between. I have been this way since a wee one. I don’t warn people about my extremities. I don’t like to surprise people either, but that’s usually what happens when I end up lashing out at them one way or another. Sometimes I surprise myself and feel bad about my behavior right after it rears its ugly head. There’s only ever a head visible, kind of like the Cheshire Cat. I’m more afraid of my heart than the people I interact with are because I’m the only one who can see its tail. And when it comes out to play, there’s no telling the size of the emotional damage it will leave behind.

Prompt: “wind”

YuMin Ye

Image credit: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/569212840381029922/

Leave a Comment

