Butterflies



It is quiet in my head today

Not sure if this is good or bad

Maybe it’s neither 

Emotions are on my sleeve

I’m a raw nerve 

The butterflies have started to dance

Flittering carelessly because their lives are so short 

Their awareness of this fact is non-existent 

If only I could be as careless

But I’m aware of how fragile life is

And how temporary living can be

Life…what a odd experience 

No odder than a bird who can’t fly

Or a bug that survives when cut in two

Maybe I’m not so strange

The silence tells me so

3 thoughts on “Butterflies

Leave a Comment

