kafkaesque


c010076c-94a9-4e48-a038-db4eb7cf50d0

I remember when 12:00 a.m. used to be too late. I was 12 when I defiantly proclaimed to my mother I am not not a musician like the way the velveteen rabbit doesn’t want to be stuffed anymore. We came home from a dinner party at 1:00 a.m. and I felt like my head was too heavy for my frame and would never ever lift up again. But once you become a hardcore student, 12:00 a.m. is a baby night, whether you are going out or studying, right around the time you’re about to feel wired.

Outside of all-nighters and Thursday night clubbing adventures running through the sprinklers, midnight is that magical unicorn moment when you can become anything or at least leave behind a life-changing glass slipper. It’s when humans go to bed and wake up in the morning as bugs. It’s when girls like Charlotte Simmons stop acting so good and finally experience what many regular girls do at 18. Many times a frat boy is involved. It’s the stuff of songs, defining relationships and sleep-walking.

My favorite is Boys Like Girls’ “Five Minutes to Midnight.” I’m not even sure the time really has any significance other than it evokes that feeling of excitement that a new relationship is about to blossom. “It’s five minutes to midnight. You’re coming home with me tonight.” He says the words every girl who is interested in someone wants to hear and it is just enough to get her to do just what he asks. And if that’s possible, more power to 11:55 p.m.

Prompt: “midnight”

YuMin Ye

Image credit: http://www.playbuzz.com/ninachu10/how-addicted-to-music-are-you

4 thoughts on “kafkaesque

Leave a Comment

