All Frangled Up


in summer

“Hi every-whoa!”
You’re too early!
“Oops! OK, I’ll just follow my butt back here…”

We’re switching it up this week here at the Crusade—we’re all posting pieces based on a one-word prompt: “Interview.” Check back every day to see where the next writer takes it.

“Now can I go?”
*nods*
“Yippee!”

“HI. EV-ERY-ONE. I’M. O-LAF. I-whoa!”
*face palm* Psst! Olaf! They’re Crusaders, not deaf!
“Ohhhh…”

“Hi everyone. I’m Olaf! And I like warm hugs!”
Much better!

Olaf: “I forget, but YuMin is either skydiving, up in a hot air balloon, or bedridden at the hospital today, so she invited me to fill in for her. I’ve never done an interview before, but I love trying new things and I have a few burning questions for Rapunzel, who graciously untangled herself to make time for Conceited Crusade.”

Rapunzel: “Thanks for having me. Perfect timing too. You caught me on a non-combing day.”

O: “Oooh, how long does it take to comb your hair?”

R: “Let’s just say I am no longer welcome in beauty salons. If I walk in, they generally kick me out. The one time I went in asking for braids, I didn’t move the whole time as they stuffed my face with cereal while I sat up straight in the chair for 12 hours as 18 different hair experts handled my blonde locks. Afterwards, they told me never to come back.”

O: “I’m sorry to hear that! Anna stuffed a carrot on my face. It’s been here ever since. Do you have any pictures from that day after the braiding was done?”

R: “I did, but I threw them away.”

O: “Really, why?”

R: “Well, I had to tilt my head forward the whole time.”

O: “Really, why?”

R: “Because my hair’s too heavy like that.”

O: “Really, why?”

R: “You know what, I couldn’t tell you. But I can tell you that if it’s winter, and my hair’s still wet, if I go outside, I can’t touch it or it will crack.”

O: “Speaking of winter, do you like winter or summer?”

R: “That feeling when your bare feet first touch the grass is sublime. I would have to go with summer.”

O: “Nice! I love the idea of summer. I’d just be a happy snowman. Elsa made sure of that with my personal flurry. So does the crown serve any other purpose besides you know, obviously, to put on your head?”

R: “I’m glad you asked! Not many people have picked up on this, but the crown essentially signifies a lady’s ‘jewel’. The woman who raised me kept warning me not to give Eugene the satchel because once I handed it over, he would leave and never come back. Obviously that didn’t happen…BUT she made a good point. I was lucky things ended happily ever after for me, but not every girl can say the same. Not all boys are sweet; some are sour.”

O: “Do you mean to say that boys taste like candy?!”

R: “Not that I know of, but I do know that each one has a dream, whether it’s to be a mime or own a private island with piles of money or to pursue interior design. Despite looking malicious mean and scary with a sneer that could curdle dairy, I know deep down every boy there is a dream to be whoever he wants without feeling judged and typecasted into typical masculine roles.”

O: “Wow, this girl is deep! Are you a love expert? I like to consider myself a love expert!”

R: “Good for you! No, sadly I am not a love expert. I just know love takes sacrifice, like the way Eugene gave up his first dream to steal the crown and found a new dream in me once he got to know me. I didn’t exactly make it easy for him either—what with knocking him unconscious with a frying pan and trying to stuff him in the wardrobe. Somehow he forgave me and I finally gave him my ‘jewel’.”

Pause.

R: “Are you crying? Don’t, you’ll melt!”

O: “Some people are worth melting for.”

R: “What a sweet snowman you are!”

O: “I don’t know. I expect I would taste like frozen water. While you were in the tower, what was your favorite thing to do?”

R: “Read. It’s very simple. Without reading, there was no way to imagine life outside the tower. Well, I should really say it’s a close tie between reading and practicing my frying pan moves.”

O: “I love your frying pan! Will you teach me some moves?”

R: “I’d love to some time. I believe everyone should not be without a conscious defense mechanism of some kind. It’s especially helpful when you’re trying to keep a horse named Maximus and a thief named Flynn Rider from ripping each other apart. They’re OK as long as Pascal is around to keep them in line. All he has to do is use his eyes.”

O: “What was the first thing you learned how to do?”

R: “Take care of Pascal. Without him, I’d be lost. We play hide and seek a lot and he blends in with his surroundings so well I never know if I’ll actually find him or not.”

O: “I’m always afraid I will lose my nose. Is there something you’re afraid to lose?”

R: “I’m afraid to lose my childlike wonder. Luckily, Eugene has no problems reminding me of when we first met. That helps.”

O: “You were so indecisive once you were able to run around the grass and tree! Back and forth between going to see the lanterns or obeying the woman who brought you up. Back and forth. Back and forth. Back and forth! Now I see what you mean by not making it easy on him!”

R: “I mean, after nearly 18 years being cooped up in that tower, it’s hard to just let it go, as much as I wanted so badly to see the lanterns.”

O: “I usually think when one is indecisive it is best to let it go…let it go…become one with the wind and sky…But anyway…What was it like when you saw the lanterns up close?”

R: “Oh I wanted to jump out the boat! I mean, I didn’t want to leave Eugene behind, but I really, really wanted to touch them, and I did. It was the best feeling in the world! Like holding freedom in my palms.”

O: “And if you couldn’t be with Eugene, what would you be doing right now?”

R: “That’s a great question. I think I would write a book. I’ve read so many I could do it myself now. That, or I would be a manic pixie dream girl.”

O: “I like it! You would get a much-needed break from your hair.”

R: “This is true.”

O: “All right folks, time to wave good-bye to Rapunzel! Tune in next time as I paint with all the colors of the wind with my friend who truly has black hair.”

Image credits: http://www.fanpop.com/clubs/disney-princess/forum/post/210067/title/snow-white-with-long-hair

https://www.tumblr.com/search/disney%20pascal%20gif

 

 

9 thoughts on “All Frangled Up

  1. Speaking as someone who has developed a few brain creases from those movies, this was awesome and really cute and pretty accurate, I expect. Whether or not I have a crush on Rapunzel is totally irrelevant.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

